Coffee Table Spruce Up

My husband and I started out with very little, like most newlyweds. We had our clothes, cars from high school, and each other! We were so blessed to end up with my aunt and uncle’s old dining table and chairs and hutch (of which you’ve already heard the story). They also gave us these 2 coffee tables. Here they are in our first little apartment. All those doo-dads on the table are most of the home decor items we received for shower/wedding gifts. 🙂 (The couch and chair were also given to us by generous friends…more on that later.)

random 024After graduation from college, we moved to my husband’s home state of Florida. At that point, I figured the table needed a little makeover. On a warm summer day, I hauled the table out by the pool in the hot sun and slathered on a layer of gray primer first, then painted it glossy black. (I really had no idea what I was doing back then, but you learn as you go, right?) 🙂 It dried- very quickly- complete with bubbles from the sun. But it was usable. And we did use it… for another five years or so. 100_5581Then one day, I ran across this. It kinda looked like our table and I liked it.

First, I measured the top of the table and figured out that I needed 4 4×6’s cut to 52 inches. The guy at Lowes quickly made the cuts for me.

Next, using a rag, I applied one coat of Zar stain. I love the dark, rich color!DSC_4411DSC_4413 DSC_4412Lastly, I put the boards on the tabletop, planning to glue them down later. (Still haven’t glued them…) But it looks great! And it’s easy to dust underneath. 🙂 (For some reason, the wood looks a little reddish in these pictures, but it’s darker in real life.)

DSC_4473 DSC_4477

5 thoughts on “Coffee Table Spruce Up

Leave a Reply

